Menu

Power Ride

Powerride
NOW AVAILABLE! FIND IT ON:


    THE STORY OF THE ALBUMS: POWER RIDE

    by Thom Blunier

    «First harsh setbacks and new motivation»

    After a lot of great experiences on the road, there was now the first bitter setback. Roger Badertscher, our bass player at that time, decided to leave the band. We not only lost a solid bass player. Roger was one of my best friends. We knew each other forever and made music together even before SHAKRA. After an arduous search, we finally found an adequate replacement in Oliver Linder. With new motivation we started working on the new album. Pete had to sing in the stairwell while I was directing in the office. The recordings were partly done at home. I didn't want to bother with background noise in our rehearsal room anymore. Pete had to sing in the stairwell while I was directing in the office.

    «The ringing on the vocal track»

    During the mix, which I also did at home, I often heard the front doorbell ring. To my astonishment, there was never anyone at the door. After some detective work, it turned out that the ringing was recorded on the vocal track. Jonas, the son of our neighbors, often rang the doorbell at that time 🙂 In addition, I was struggling with digital recording machines, which were new at that time. The tapes kept breaking, which was devastating. I was almost just making backup copies. Eventually, however, that was also overcome and the disc was finally in the box.

    «The snail on the cover»

    Our cover proposal, a Lotus Formula 1 piloted by a snail, which roared towards the sunset, Harry from our label found quite crappy. He said that we were not a "snail band" but the sunset remained.

    «First time in the CH charts at #64»

    The album even entered the CH charts at number 64. We were proud. With Domain and Hotwire from Bavaria we went on *The Melodic Return* Tour. Three bands in a nightliner was a challenge! It was cool anyway.

    Cast

    Vocals: Pete Wiedmer, Lead Guitar: Thom Blunier, Rhythm Guitar: Thomas Muster, Bass: Oli Linder, Drums: Roger Tanner

    Produced by Thom Blunier

     

    Abonniere unseren Newsletter

    en_USEN
    ×

Menu

Power Ride


DIE GESCHICHTE DER ALBEN: POWER RIDE

von Thom Blunier

«Erste herbe Rückschläge und neue Motivation»

Nach sehr vielen schönen Erlebnissen unterwegs gab es nun den ersten herben Rückschlag. Roger Badertscher, unser damaliger Bassist, entschloss sich, die Band zu verlassen. Wir verloren nicht nur einen soliden Bassisten. Roger war einer meiner besten Freunde. Wir kannten uns ewig und machten schon vor SHAKRA zusammen Musik. Mit Oliver Linder fanden wir nach mühsamer Suche endlich adäquaten Ersatz. Mit neuer Motivation machten wir uns an die Arbeit fürs neue Album. Pete musste im Treppenhaus singen, während ich im Büro die Regie hatte. Die Aufnahmen dazu entstanden zum Teil dann bei mir zu Hause. Ich wollte mich nicht mehr mit Nebengeräuschen in unserem Proberaum herumärgern. Pete musste im Treppenhaus singen, während ich im Büro die Regie hatte.

«Das Klingeln auf der Gesangsspur»

Beim Mix, den ich auch zu Hause machte, hörte ich es des Öfteren die Haustüre klingeln. Zu meinem Erstaunen war nie jemand an der Türe. Nach längerer Detektivarbeit stellte sich heraus, dass das Klingeln auf der Gesangsspur aufgenommen wurde. Jonas, der Sohn unserer Nachbarn, klingelte zu dieser Zeit des Öfteren an der Türe 🙂 Ausserdem schlug ich mich mit damals neuartigen digitalen Aufnahmemaschinen herum. Die Bänder rissen immer wieder, was verheerend war. Ich war fast nur noch am Sicherungskopien machen. Irgendwann war aber auch das überstanden und die Scheibe war endlich im Kasten.

«Die Schnecke auf dem Cover»

Unser Cover-Vorschlag, ein von einer Schnecke pilotierten Lotus Formel 1, der dem Sonnenuntergang entgegen brauste, fand Harry von unserem Label recht beschissen. Er meinte, wir seien doch keine „Schnecken-Band“ der Sonnenuntergang blieb aber.

«Das erste Mal in den CH-Charts auf #64»

Das Album enterte sogar die CH-Charts auf Platz 64. Wir waren stolz. Mit Domain und Hotwire aus Bayern ging es auf die *The Melodic Return* Tour. Drei Bands im Nightliner war eine Herausforderung! Geil war es trotzdem.

Cast

Vocals: Pete Wiedmer, Lead Guitar: Thom Blunier, Rhythm Guitar: Thomas Muster, Bass: Oli Linder, Drums: Roger Tanner

Produced by Thom Blunier

 

de_CHDE