Menu

Moving Force

Moving Force
NOW AVAILABLE! FIND IT ON:


    THE STORY OF THE ALBUMS: MOVING FORCE

    by Thom Blunier

    «Minor smoldering fires occurred frequently in the woodworking shop above our rehearsal space»

    Our rehearsal room used to be in the basement of a wooden goods factory. Right next to a wood chip silo. There were often small smoldering fires. After one such fire, our mixing console was so sooty that the insurance company gave us a new one. My old Strat could be saved by a dedicated employee. (Thanks Michu).

    «Pete had to sing under a tent made of wool blankets»

    Despite the constant noise from the production hall directly above the rehearsal room, we set to work on the new record full of verve. Pete had to sing under a tent made of wool blankets because of the loud woodworking machines. It didn't help much ... so these machines are also immortalized on the record.

    «The press celebrated Moving Force hugely»

    A cover also had to come quickly. As an old motorsport fan, I immediately had the image of a Formula 1 engine in my head. Well, it became only the gears of the valve train. The press celebrated Moving Force enormously. We and Harry from Point-Music (our record company) were happy. Harry knew exactly what to do and sent us on three European tours.

    «We played our butts off!»

    The first tour was in the fall of 1999 with Uriah Heep. We were amazed at what was waiting for us. The bus we stayed in was used for Formula 1 in the summer. It was a wonderful match for the cover. The food was also excellent. In the truck, with the PA, was also a mobile kitchen, which was set up daily. The entire tour troop was deliciously cooked with it. Well satiated, we played our asses off. It was probably not in vain. Our CDs sold like hot bread in the evening. We learned a lot on this tour. Among other things, respect for the headliner and for the crew. Uriah Heep showed us a perfect performance every night. In the fall we even recorded a live album at the legendary Rössli Wattenwil. The album The Live Side was released in the millennium year. A turbulent time. I sometimes wonder today how we managed to do all that besides our "regular" jobs. Thom Blunier

    Cast

    Vocals: Pete Wiedmer, Lead Guitar: Thom Blunier, Rhythm Guitar: Thomas Muster, Bass: Roger Badertscher, Drums: Roger Tanner

    Produced by Thom Blunier

    Abonniere unseren Newsletter

    en_USEN
    ×

Menu

Moving Force


DIE GESCHICHTE DER ALBEN: MOVING FORCE

von Thom Blunier

«In der Holzwarenfabrik über unserem Proberaum kam es öfter zu kleineren Schwelbränden»

Unser Proberaum befand sich früher im Keller einer Holzwarenfabrik. Genau neben einem Holzspan-Silo. Dort kam es des Öfteren zu kleinen Schwelbränden. Nach einem solchen war unter anderem unser Mischpult so verrusst, dass die Versicherung uns ein Neues spendierte. Meine alte Strat konnte ein engagierter Mitarbeiter noch retten. (Danke Michu).

«Pete musste unter einem Zelt aus Wolldecken singen»

Trotz des Dauerlärms, der direkt oberhalb des Proberaums liegenden Produktionshalle, machten wir uns voller Elan an die neue Scheibe. Pete musste wegen der lauten Holzbearbeitungsmaschinen unter einem Zelt aus Wolldecken singen. Viel gebracht hat’s nicht … somit sind eben diese Maschinen auch auf der Platte verewigt.

«Die Presse feierte Moving Force gewaltig ab»

Ein Cover musste auch noch schnell her. Ich als alter Motorsport Fan hatte zu Moving Force sofort das Bild eines Formel 1 Motors im Kopf. Na ja, es wurden dann nur die Zahnräder des Ventiltriebes. Die Presse feierte Moving Force gewaltig ab. Uns und Harry von Point-Music (unserer Plattenfirma) freute es. Harry wusste genau, was zu tun war und schickte uns gleich dreimal auf Europa-Tour.

«Wir spielten uns den Arsch ab!»

Die erste Tour war im Herbst 1999 mit Uriah Heep. Wir staunten nicht schlecht, was uns da so erwartete. Der Bus, in dem wir wohnten, war im Sommer für die Formel 1 im Einsatz. Passte ja wunderbar zum Cover. Auch das Essen war exzellent. Im Lastwagen, mit der PA, war auch eine mobile Küche, die täglich aufgebaut wurde. Der gesamte Tourtross wurde damit köstlich bekocht. Gut gesättigt, spielten wir uns den Arsch ab. Es war wohl nicht umsonst. Unsere CDs gingen am Abend weg wie warmes Brot. Wir lernten viel auf dieser Tour. Unter anderem Respekt vor dem Headliner und vor der Crew. Uriah Heep zeigte uns jeden Abend eine perfekte Performance. Im Herbst nahmen wir sogar noch ein Live Album im legendären Rössli Wattenwil auf. Das Album The Live Side wurde im Millennium-Jahr veröffentlicht. Eine turbulente Zeit. Ich frag’ mich heute manchmal, wie wir das alles neben unseren „regulären“Jobs hinbekommen haben. Thom Blunier

Cast

Vocals: Pete Wiedmer, Lead Guitar: Thom Blunier, Rhythm Guitar: Thomas Muster, Bass: Roger Badertscher, Drums: Roger Tanner

Produced by Thom Blunier

de_CHDE